The Institute of Experimental Immunology was founded 1992 from parts of the Institute of Pathology (Experimental Pathology directed by Prof. G. Zbinden) and the Institute of Immunology and Virology (directed by Prof. J. Lindenmann, who co-discovered interferon with Dr. Alick Isaacs in 1957). Until 2008 the Institute was co-directed by Prof. Hans Hengartner and Prof. Rolf Zinkernagel, who was awarded the Nobel Prize of Physiology and Medicine 1996 together with Dr. Peter Doherty “for their discoveries concerning the specificity of the cell mediated immune defence”. Since 2008 the Institute is co-directed by Prof. Burkhard Becher and Prof. Christian Münz and hosts currently nine research groups investigating different aspects of mouse and human immunology in autoimmunity, viral infections and tumor development.